What is the website about?
There are three lawsuits against The Salvation Army:
  • Alvear, et al., v. The Salvation Army Case No.: 1:22-cv-00979 (N.D. Ga.);

  • Clancy, et al., v. The Salvation Army Case No.: 1:22-cv-01250 (N.D. Ill.); and

  • Geiser, et al., v. The Salvation Army Case No.: 1:22-cv-1968 (S.D.N.Y.).

These lawsuits claim that The Salvation Army didn’t pay ARC participants minimum wage for the time engaged in work therapy programs in violation of federal wage and hour law and other state minimum wage laws. The lawsuits are seeking to recover unpaid minimum wages on behalf of all eligible ARC participants. The courts have authorized notice to be issued to eligible participants in each case. The Salvation Army denies the claims in each lawsuit and maintains that participants in these programs are not entitled to wages for time engaged in work therapy. The courts have not decided who is right.
Are you eligible?
Yes, if you meet the following criteria:
(a) you enrolled in a Salvation Army ARC program in the Southern, Central, or Eastern Territory between September 20, 2019 and
September 11, 2023
(b) you did not enroll in the ARC to comply with a court order or as a condition of probation, parole, or community supervision; AND
(c) you join the lawsuit before September 11, 2023.
How do you participate?
For more information and for instructions on how to participate, click on the Territory of the ARC Center you participated in on the map below.
Blank map of the United States, territories not includedOregonArizonaCaliforniaColoradoIdahoMontanaUtahWyomingNevadaNew MexicoCentralWisconsinMichiganMinnesotaIllinoisIndianaIowaKansasMissouriNebraskaNorth DakotaSouth DakotaSouth DakotaConnecticutPennsylvaniaRhode IslandOhioNew YorkNew HampshireNew JerseyMaineVermontMassachusettsPuerto RicoU.S. Virgin IslandsKentuckyMarylandMississippiLouisianaNorth CarolinaSouth CarolinaTennesseeTexasOklahomaAlabamaVirginiaWest VirginiaDistrict of ColumbiaArkansasFloridaGeorgiaDelawareDistrict of Columbia
  • Southern Territory: Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky (outside of northeast), Louisiana, Maryland, Mississippi, North Carolina, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia, Washington, DC, or West Virginia
  • Central Territory: Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota, South Dakota and Wisconsin
  • Eastern Territory: Connecticut, Delaware, northeast Kentucky, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Puerto Rico, Rhode Island, the U.S. Virgin Islands, or Vermont
If you were enrolled in a Salvation Army ARC program in more than one Territory, and you meet the eligibility requirements stated above for each time you were enrolled, you can join the lawsuit for each.